What do you do with a Negative Book Review?

So you got a bad book review…so what? It may feel like the end of the world but what does it really matter? It is only the opinion of one person. And we all know about opinions…everyone has one!

What do you do with a negative book review?

  • Depending on the source it can be used as constructive feedback for future efforts
  • Find the positive comments they gave and focus on those for value
  • File it away so you can reference it later when your book is a best seller

Personally, I take a bad review in stride. It ranks right up there with an editor’s rejection letter. I own a rather large rubber stamp that I had created at the local print shop (on the recommendation of another author on Bainbridge Island). I happily ink it up with some lovely crimson ink and then I slam that sucker right in the middle of the reviewer’s work.

I then post my lovely stamped negative review up on the cork board on my wall and toast the darn thing with whatever is at hand. Much like the word on my stamp…their opinion is purely unimportant and full of BULLSHIT….

Then I sit back and keep marketing my book to the rest of the reading world.

About mywritingmentor

I am an editor, book coach, and freelance writer.
This entry was posted in author marketing tools, book reviews, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

