Author Platforms -Simple Website Designs Targeted to Your Audience

So you have a website. Good…But do you have a home page that works for you? Is itauthor platformattracting your target audience? Does anyone know what to do once they get there?  Are you real clear on the purpose of your website?

It is easy to get caught in creating a website with all the bells and whistles and end up with a crappy cluttered site. You know the type! You land on them and they are so tacky and burdened with the sound and the fury of all that is amazing technology and you have to click off the site to prevent sensory over-load. Obviously I am not their target market? Or was I?

Who is your target market? What do they like? What are they expecting? How do you most effectively communicate with that audience? What does that communication “look” like? Is it soft colors,rounded edges, and landscapes or is it edgy, filled with music, and pulsing gyrating images? You better be clear on who and what your audience are and work from that frame of reference to create the look and feel of your site.

Basically you need to analyze your market for four things:

  • Who is your prime audience
  • What are they expecting
  • What goods/services do you have that they want or need
  • What benefits do your goods/services deliver to them

Easy huh? Yep, it is. It does not have to include whirly-gigs and flummer-diddles…unless that is what you  are selling or promoting! If you are promoting romance writing book critiques you probably want to have a softer more feminine appeal to the content and visual design elements. If you are a wild west author whose specialty is speaking to writers on the importance of research and authenticity of the weaponry associated with the genre. You want to appear at the top of your game…so your site might feature artwork of the era depicting the men and women and the weapons of the western frontier.

  • Get a domain name that goes with who you are and what you do
  • Get rid of the junk no one knows what to do with, is unrelated to your work, etc
  • Don’t use excessive graphics, avoid flash as folks in the heartland are still on dial up
  • Have a call to action if you want them to sign up for a class, exchange an email for an ebook, etc.

Think like the consumer and then give them something unique that provides just what they were looking for in a website. With some imagination and simple design you will have the beginnings of a simple but effective website to act as a critical element in your author platform.

About mywritingmentor

I am an editor, book coach, and freelance writer.
This entry was posted in audience creation, author marketing tools, author platform and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

68 Responses to Author Platforms -Simple Website Designs Targeted to Your Audience

  1. I like what you guys are up too. Such clever work and reporting!

    Keep up the excellent works guys I have incorporated you guys to my blogroll.
    I think it will improve the value of my website :
    )

  2. Good day! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this write-up to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

  3. I am curious to find out what blog platform you happen to be working
    with? I’m experiencing some minor security issues with my latest website and I’d like to find something more risk-free.
    Do you have any recommendations?

  4. Greate post. Keep writing such kind of info on your site.
    Im really impressed by your site.
    Hello there, You have performed a fantastic job. I will certainly digg it and for my
    part suggest to my friends. I am sure they’ll be benefited from this web site.

  5. Hey there this is kinda of off topic but I was wondering if
    blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually
    code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding expertise so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  6. Gidget says:

    Just want to say your article is as surprising. The clarity to your
    put up is just cool and i can suppose you are an expert on this subject.

    Well with your permission let me to clutch your RSS feed to
    keep up to date with imminent post. Thanks a million and please
    keep up the gratifying work.

  7. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very easy on the eyes which
    makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit
    more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?
    Exceptional work!

  8. I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for
    me. In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did,
    the net will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  9. Orville says:

    Hello there! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout
    out and tell you I truly enjoy reading your posts. Can you
    suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same
    subjects? Thank you!

  10. I do not even know how I ended up here, however I thought this put up used
    to be good. I don’t know who you might be however certainly you’re going to a famous blogger for those who are not
    already. Cheers!

  11. Remarkable issues here. I’m very satisfied to look your article. Thank you a lot and I’m having a look
    ahead to touch you. Will you please drop me
    a mail?

  12. Armando says:

    Thanks for your marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed
    reading it, you’re a great author.I will always bookmark your blog and will often come back from now on. I want to encourage you continue your great job, have a nice holiday weekend!

  13. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a
    very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit
    more often. Did you hire out a designer to create
    your theme? Outstanding work!

  14. Hello, Neat post. There’s a problem along with your web site in internet explorer, would test this? IE still is the marketplace leader and a large component to other people will leave out your fantastic writing because of this problem.

  15. Sommer says:

    hey there and thank you for your information – I have certainly
    picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical
    points using this web site, as I experienced to reload
    the web site many times previous to I could get it to load correctly.

    I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times will
    very frequently affect your placement in google and could damage your high-quality score if
    ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for much more of your respective fascinating content. Make sure you update this again soon.

  16. Hi there mates, its wonderful piece of writing on the topic of teachingand entirely defined, keep it
    up all the time.

  17. I do not even know how I stopped up here, but I believed this publish was once good.
    I don’t know who you might be but certainly you’re going to a well-known blogger if you happen to are
    not already. Cheers!

  18. Natalie says:

    In the four tournaments since his first of the season, he.

    While having a passion for playing games is important, getting
    a rewarding career in game design will require
    students to be a cut above the competition. People are now looking to be able to
    connect to things like their vehicles through their
    smart phones, and now Buick has announced the release of their new e –
    Assist Fuel Effeciency smartphone games.

  19. It is not my first time to pay a quick visit this site, i am
    visiting this web site dailly and get fastidious facts from
    here everyday.

  20. Asa says:

    You might need heavier line and tackle to account for powerful
    river flows. Here is some helpful information so you can select a good
    charter boat and avoid a few of the pitfalls. When the water arrives at
    the inlet, most oxygen is dissolved because of the abrupt
    transformation of water movement.

  21. Hey there, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Chrome, it looks fine
    but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, amazing blog!

  22. Annetta says:

    Too many folks have already thrown away plenty of good money on nothing but useless salt tablets being shipped from South America.
    Vinson had participants keep their normal diet and exercise routines (or lack thereof) and merely added the green coffee.
    The institution has persistently offered ideal programs and services for those struggling to achieve certain levels of body weight.

  23. Broadcast satellite “in the Star on the 9th,” was successfully launched in
    June last year, it can be said is a milestone in the field of live satellite event.
    So your personal, non-commercial, watercraft is exempt from a licensing requirement.

    But mostly BBC Radios 4 and 5 because, being speech orientated, they’re more like what I do, so I can learn lots from them.

  24. Hi there this is kinda of off topic but I was wanting
    to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding skills so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  25. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and
    now each time a comment is added I get four e-mails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove me from that service?

    Cheers!

  26. May says:

    For any kind of luxury item of consumption, MAD (Money, Authority
    and Desire) is required. Next, build a list of prospects and develop a relationship with those prospects on your list.
    Yours Truly, Johnny Dollar: The Duke Red Matter (Part
    One; CBS, 1956)’Abbott Stables’s Duke Red is a thoroughbred destroyed over
    a serious injury in an accident, and Dollar (Bob Bailey)’asked to review a $65,000 insurance claim on the horse’smells trouble when the stable’s business manager is dismissed after filing the claim, and its veterinarian may have destroyed the horse a little too swiftly.

  27. 0 megapixels, created-in flash, motion picture captured.
    If the horse is a good model and stands well during his photo op,
    then work it. This lets you manage exactly how wide the camera shutter opens and
    the remaining settings are governed automatically to provide you with an
    excellent picture.

  28. Sherri says:

    With internet radio, you get pretty much what you want, when you want.
    Listening to Internet radio is a breeze for anyone who’s familiar with the World Wide Web. With 75 plus musical channels on the bandwidth, you cannot stay out of music in any point of time.

  29. Meredith says:

    As the medium is not limited to any particular geographical or demographic region, advertising on internet radio would give
    the business an international audience base. There are hundreds
    of people working in foreign aid missions, expats, Peace Corps,
    and others in relief and business sectors. Back
    in the day, people had little choice but to take what was given to them as their “lot in life.

  30. With internet radio, you get pretty much what you
    want, when you want. There are hundreds of people working
    in foreign aid missions, expats, Peace Corps, and others in
    relief and business sectors. You will also need to be sure that
    you have enough bandwidth from your web host to run the programming smoothly.

  31. If you are receiving a fatal exception error message or BSOD
    with error message while installing or playing Real – Arcade games, take note of the stop error code
    and then temporary disable avast or turn on Gaming or Silent mode in the
    Avast progr am. Zygor guides are publicly recognized by
    both fans and Blizzard and have succeeded to build a positive reputation on stability coupled with
    efficiency. Many people think that because the entertainment is not charged it is of poor quality.

  32. Kayla says:

    For many regions, the entire rpm distributed free of charge STB The costs have
    been overwhelmed, and then implementation of the Reconstruction of two-way
    network, the funding is clearly beyond its capability.
    If you are already experienced in internet radio hosting, the Blog – Talk –
    Radio Premium might be a hosting program you might want to pay for.

    Organizing employees, maintenance of radio station as well as layout and other
    details are very simple and therefore creating a radio station
    online is a lucrative deal for those who want their
    own stations.

  33. Ronnie says:

    With internet radio, you get pretty much what you want, when you want.
    According to online music provider Pandora the legislation will
    help end the discrimination against internet radio.
    This powerful and versatile solution is also available in three different versions, so
    you should have no trouble finding the perfect one for you.

  34. No longer does a music lover need to bother about traveling out of range when a
    fantastic song comes on over the vehicle radio. Much of your best players marketplaces in the united states are supervised.
    You will need an outside antenna to get clear reception on your radio.

  35. I blog frequently and I genuinely appreciate your content.
    Your article has really peaked my interest.
    I’m going to book mark your site and keep checking for new information about once per week. I opted in for your RSS feed as well.

  36. I think the admin of this website is truly working hard in favor of his web page, for the reason that here every material
    is quality based material.

  37. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this site. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appearance. I must say that you’ve done a very good job with this.
    In addition, the blog loads super fast for me on Firefox. Exceptional Blog!

  38. Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more
    than just your articles? I mean, what you say is
    valuable and everything. However think about if you added some great images or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with images and videos, this site could certainly be one
    of the most beneficial in its niche. Terrific blog!

  39. advertising says:

    Just want to say your article is as amazing. The clarity
    for your put up is just great and that i could assume you’re knowledgeable in this subject. Fine with your permission let me to clutch your feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks one million and please carry on the gratifying work.

  40. Wonderful blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a
    paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any tips? Bless you!

  41. Joan says:

    Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures
    on this blog loading? I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

  42. Dallas says:

    Major follows some sports, primarily during the playoffs.

    Understanding video gaming is a must tip on how to run a game store.
    In addition, you can save the effort of coding the store functionality,
    virtual goods dependencies, billing interfaces and rewards.

  43. If, at the end of this time period, the score is tied,
    there are two options the officials can take. If you are unable to sign in to Game Center or are
    having problems staying connected:. The nature of Reddit’s platform makes it possible — through great and creative effort, it appears — to give users a gift of the unexpected, rather than deriving humor from humiliation.

  44. Excellent blog post. I certainly appreciate this site.
    Keep writing!

  45. Hey there! I’ve been reading your site for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Atascocita Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the excellent work!

  46. Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the net the
    simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get irked while people consider worries that they plainly don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  47. Good post however I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this subject?
    I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Cheers!

  48. I delight in, lead to I discovered exactly what I was
    taking a look for. You’ve ended my four day lengthy hunt!
    God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  49. I get pleasure from, cause I discovered just what I was taking a look for.
    You have ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man.

    Have a nice day. Bye

  50. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text
    in your content seem to be running off the screen in Opera.
    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to
    let you know. The layout look great though!
    Hope you get the issue solved soon. Thanks

  51. Bev says:

    s better to use whole foods made from scratch for good health.
    For many working to lose weight, one failure is enough to
    get them off the path to success. Hence, broccoli is a
    must-add ingredient in your vegetarian weight loss
    diet.

  52. Woodrow says:

    Too many folks have already thrown away plenty of good money on nothing but
    useless salt tablets being shipped from South America. Authorities inside the area will need to have an
    intensive understanding of laboratory and labeling techniques,
    infection security precautions, appropriate blood attract approaches to the elderly and for infants and even
    more. When you’re about to start on your weight loss plan, it’s a good idea to think about your end goal and
    chunk it down into smaller goals.

  53. She had even taken care of the foul breath, not that I checked
    closely on that. Photopneumatic therapy works
    like a vacuum to suck oil and dead skin cells out of the sebaceous glands.

    Spider vein treatments should be performed by an experienced physician and will not require general anesthetic, sedatives, pain medications or injections of local anesthetic.
    shall adjust the payments made to an eligible safety net hospital
    system or network from a fee-for-service payment structure
    to a global capitated payment model.

  54. Hello, i feel that i saw you visited my web site thus i came to go back the want?.I’m trying to find
    things to enhance my web site!I assume its good enough to make use
    of some of your concepts!!

  55. Be careful, though, many states require that you
    complete a training course and obtain licensing.
    If the connection is complete, everything should be working fine.
    If the warranty policy of the faulty appliance still applies, you should check for information regarding how and where to have it repaired.

    As the air conditioning when not in use dust, debris,
    etc. Because of the danger of electrical shock, installation mistakes, and serious damage to your
    home and property, electrical repair and installation as well as appliance repairs
    are not jobs for amateurs.

  56. whoaaa.com says:

    Thanx because business organization today
    and if you’re neglecting to get masses’s shipways to get more likes on your facebook page attention, you’re proceeding to run into problem.
    Get hold of that imaginative thoughts and those nimble fingers doing the job on
    scarf knots. Keep in mind that you will not be ready to do a Sponsored Tale right up until 2-three weeks following your Admirer Page has been set up.
    You might not know how he feels about you, and may
    question whether or not he even wants to date you
    again. More confidence, more likely users to share their
    content with others.

  57. It is also useful for generating performance reports and activity logs.
    Make sure that you state in the documents all the important aspects of design and development.
    You therefore want to make sure you find a company with a very
    good reputation. A mobile website has the potential to reach a large number of audiences in a shorter
    period. There’s even a revival in interest in techniques that weren’t generally prompted.

  58. Offices do not need to have their printed materials needed be outsourced anymore.
    VOIP is actually another performance that has significantly transformed
    the way in which individuals connect inside the business.
    To guard against this, a robust and costly security apparatus is required.
    So basically, commercial printing may be summed up into three areas-the prepress, the printing, and then the finishing.
    But for those not interested in the sports stars,
    there will be one prominent addition that is bound to get some people excited.

  59. Hello! I’ve been reading your web site for some time now and finally got the
    bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out
    from Porter Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the fantastic job!

  60. Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon every
    day. It will always be useful to read articles from other authors and use a
    little something from their sites.

  61. Emory says:

    Your style is very unique compared to other people I have read stuff from.
    Thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just
    bookmark this page.

  62. Hello, after reading this awesome article i am
    as well cheerful to share my knowledge here with
    friends.

  63. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be actually something which I think I
    would never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely
    broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the
    hang of it!

  64. Pretty element of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to claim that I acquire
    in fact loved account your blog posts. Anyway I will be
    subscribing in your feeds and even I achievement you get entry to persistently fast.

  65. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point.
    You obviously know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your weblog when you could be giving us something informative to read?

  66. and variables will make our database in good health.

    Research suggests 96% of emails sent between midnight and 7am should never be read.
    Social media can be utilized alongside email in by doing this.
    Over many years, lots of studies have been completed to try and determine the very best
    time and day oof the week for you emails. This is performed by following the quantity of clicks on an item.
    In this 2-part article series, I’ve highlighted 10
    additions you can make to how we manage your company that
    can net great marketing results. Email offers and promotions help
    generate immediate sales, downloads, inquiries, registrations etc.
    Following the following tips will ggive your message an improved chance of not
    just being delivered for the intended audience, but also
    absorbed by the people with whom you need to connect.
    Email advertising campaign should started having a target.
    Since you tend not to have to pay for a base salary, you’ll be able to offer very generous commissions
    to affiliates, that can attract these phones promoting
    your offer.

  67. shoook.com says:

    If you want to get a great deal from this paragraph then you have to apply such techniques to
    your won blog.

Leave a Reply

