NaNoWriMo – Is it Impossible to WRIte a NOvel in a MOnth?

Nanowrimo is an international writing effort by authors united with one purpose: individually write and submit a 50,000 word+ novel draft beginning on 1 November and submitting by end of day 30 November. An ominous task for first timers, the project is infectious as the number of participants yearly has grown phenomenally in the writing community around the globe. It is such a powerful experience that authors become repeat participants year after year. Some highly successful works have come out of Nanowrimo including best seller Water for Elephants (and I am sure after many re-writes and edits).

Tamara Sellman of Writer’s Rainbow is a two time successful NANOWRIMO author.  She has some solid words of advice for first time participants:

  • Create your free Nanowrimo account now and make a commitment to your writing schedule.
  • Write 1669 words a day and you will make your word count easily
  • Create an outline or storyboard ahead of time (no actual story writing as that is cheating) so you star with the end in mind.
  • Know your story question before November 1 so you can just focus on the writing and not worry about getting stuck.

Nanowrimo entries are always raw and unpolished work. The idea behind the event is to force writers to get the work down on paper, learn about their characters, and noting areas where you are stuck or need to go back and do research but to just write on and capture your story in the first pass.

Editing comes later. If you really get caught up in the craziness you can join in on Nanoedit month in February. So you have Dec and Jan for your re-writes and research on your Nanowrimo novel!

If you need a partner or a formal setting to support you in your first attempt at Nanowrimo there are all types of local and online groups to join. In Seattle there are sessions devoted to Nanowrimo at Hugo House, most writing organizations and public libraries have similar sessions offering support. Join a team and get ready to join in on the fun.

I’ve already signed up, am committed and have my pencils sharpened…Go Team Seattle! We are going to rock the writing world!

About mywritingmentor

I am an editor, book coach, and freelance writer.
This entry was posted in Book Contest, finding a topic for your book, manuscript preparation, Uncategorized, Writing, writing a book and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to NaNoWriMo – Is it Impossible to WRIte a NOvel in a MOnth?

  1. Lanora says:

    An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a colleague who has been doing a little homework on this. And he in fact bought me lunch due to the fact that I found it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending some time to discuss this topic here on your site.

  2. Abraham says:

    I blog often and I really thank you for your information.

    This great article has really peaked my interest.
    I am going to book mark your site and keep checking for new details about once per week.
    I subscribed to your RSS feed as well.

  3. Salvador says:

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

  4. web design says:

    Heya! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing several
    weeks of hard work due to no back up. Do you
    have any methods to stop hackers?

  5. web design says:

    Heya! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing months of hard work due to
    no data backup. Do you have any methods to stop hackers?

  6. web design says:

    Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more
    than just your articles? I mean, what you say is valuable
    and all. But just imagine if you added some great pictures or videos to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with pics and clips, this
    website could undeniably be one of the greatest in its
    niche. Fantastic blog!

  7. Greetings! Very helpful advice within this post!
    It is the little changes that produce the most significant changes.
    Thanks for sharing!

  8. Sherlene says:

    Just desire to say your article is as astonishing. The clearness in
    your post is just spectacular and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the gratifying work.

  9. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your weblog. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility issues? A handful of my blog readers have complained about my website not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox. Do you have any suggestions to help fix this issue?

  10. Valuable information. Fortunate me I found your web site
    by chance, and I am stunned why this coincidence did not took place in advance!
    I bookmarked it.

  11. Many grains too, contain these healthy substances.
    The same is definitely true in globe of high fad accessories such simply
    because handbags. Lots of ways and associated with offering free baits
    to fish. The most important question that often crosses
    people’s minds is how do you enunciate “Loewe”?

  12. Olivia says:

    I’m amazed, I have to admit. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s equally educative and engaging, and let
    me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. Now i’m
    very happy I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

Leave a comment